This is my first attempt at making a cigar box guitar. In the end, and for future reference, the jigsaw was fine for most of the cutting, followed by various files and a pocket knife to finish and get the cuts just right. When you set the string height, you can use a radius gauge (radius gauge PDF), or you can eyeball it. Once the stain was dry, I put it together. I’ll have to keep that in mind next time I have the time to build one. Personally, I’d shim/raise the nut first and then look at the action. Again, this is a reasonable argument. Now have a listen. Especially things that work. The first issue was that as I tuned the strings to pitch, they dug into the wood of the tailpiece. The thing turns out to be playable. And, since flattening the string heights is not easily reversible on many guitars (any without individually adjustable saddles), I’d advise you to see if you can handle the radius before you commit. Thank goodness for TopoChico. ©2003-2020 Leading Tone Media, LLC - all rights reserved, Copying or distributing studybass.com content, in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited. Because a slide generally has a straight edge, some argue that setting your strings so they’re in a straight line is best for slide playing. Go for it and don’t sweat the super-fine details too much. One thing I vowed never to do again is build a guitar when it’s 103°F outside. I can’t play it but those who can, have and were amazed. For electric guitars, in our opinion, a good default string height at the 12th fret is typically about 6/64th of an inch (2.38mm) on the bass side and 4/64th of an inch (1.59mm) on the treble side. The radius of that large circle is measured in inches. Thanks, for the tip, Dom. However, most of us aren’t Derek Trucks or Joe Bonamassa. Coming out of my amp, it sounds old fashioned: tinny and mid-rangey like an A.M. radio. You might find the new nut height will give you enough clearance that you don’t need to touch the action. High action and nuts make